Akbarnia Best Research Paper

Akbarnia Best Research Paper

2022 Award Recipient - Dr. Jaysson Brooks

The Behrooz A. Akbarnia Award for Best Research paper is granted to the author(s) of one free paper annually at ICEOS. Candidates for the award are selected by the ICEOS program chairs, who base their decisions on the highest scored papers in the abstract submission process. Congress attendees are then given the opportunity to vote on-site during the congress to select the distinguished prize recipient.

At the 2022 ICEOS meeting, this award was presented to Dr. Jaysson Brooks, presenter and author of "Money Can't Buy Happiness, but Can It Buy Less Complications and UPRORs in Growth Friendly Surgery?" Co-authors included Emeka N. Andrews, Eisha R. Patel, Anna McClung-Booth, David Thornberg, Brandon A. Ramo, MD, Amy L. McIntosh, MD, Megan Johnson, MD, and the Pediatric Spine Study Group.

The objectives for this study were to determine if patients with different EOS diagnoses have any difference in baseline SES, determine if there is a difference in SES between EOS patients who experience UPRORs and those that don't, and lastly to determine if there is a difference in SES between EOS patients who experience all complications and those that don't.

In their multicenter review using the PSSG database, they concluded that white patients with neuromuscular EOS (nmEOS) came from a significantly higher SES than non-white neuromuscular EOS patients. They also concluded that there was no significant difference in UPRORs based on a patient's ADI, however, there was a significantly higher number of UPROR events in white patients with nmEOS vs. non-white patients with nmEOS.

Past Award Recipients

2021: Rajiv Iyler, MD

2020: Patrick Cahill, MD

2019 Award Recipient - John Emans, MD

Congratulations to Dr. John Emans for receiving the inaugural Campbell Award at ICEOS 2019 this November!

Dr. Emans has made significant contributions to ICEOS and has reigned as a true thought-leader and innovator in the field.  He has had a strong impact on our community and his contributions to the field are of special importance.  His work on complex cases resulting in many modifications of VEPTR device and technique are worthy of recognition. As a sponsor Dr. Brian Snyder wrote in his support letter, "His pedagogical skills are evident in the generation of spine surgeons that he has trained and have become thought leaders in their own right. There is no one more deserving to be the inaugural recipient of the Campbell award to honor Bob's legacy.

Photo: Program Committee Chair John Smith, MD, Award Winner John Emans, MD, President and Founder Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD.