Pediatric Spine Foundation

15th International Congress on Early Onset Scoliosis (ICEOS)
Salt Lake City, Grand America Hotel
November 10-12, 2021

Program Chair, Dr. John M. Flynn, invites you to join us for The 15th Annual Congress on Early Onset Scoliosis and the Growing Spine (ICEOS), the world's leading conference addressing complex scoliosis in the growing child. Known for its highly interactive and collegial atmosphere, the meeting will attract approximately 150 surgeons and allied health professionals from around the world. The program will include outstanding free papers, expert lectures, panel discussions, and workshops.

Highlights include:

  • New this year: Wednesday afternoon Special Session—The Role of VBT to Treat Growing Spine Deformities
  • Masters Tips and Techniques in EOS Care
  • Preventing and Managing Complications
  • EOS: State of the Art Care 2021
  • More than 30 outstanding Free Papers
  • Over 17 hours of scientific sessions
  • Multiple workshops
  • Invited speakers from around the world

Quick Links:

Hotel Reservations >

Preliminary Program >

Conference Registration >


Behrooz A. Akbarnia Award for Best Research Paper

2020 Award Recipient - Patrick Cahill, MD

The Behrooz A. Akbarnia Award for Best Research paper is granted to the author(s) of one free paper annually at ICEOS. Candidates for the award are selected by the ICEOS program chairs, who base their decisions on the highest scored papers in the abstract submission process. Congress attendees are then given the opportunity to vote on-site during the congress to select the distinguished prize recipient.

On Saturday, November 14, 2020 The Behrooz Akbarnia Award for best paper was awarded to Dr. Patrick Cahill, presenter and author of "Rib-based Anchors do not Impair Chest Wall Motion in Early Onset Scoliosis".  Co-authors included Jason Anari, Nirupa Galagedera, Carina Lott, Joseph M. McDonough, Yubing Tong, Drew Torigian, Jayaram K. Udupa, Caiyun Wu, Catherine Qui.

This study included dynamic MR images acquired from 30 EOS patients (pre- and post-surgical) and 51 normal children were evaluated. Tidal volumetric parameters for chest walls and hemi-diaphragms via QdMRI based on segmentation results from 4D constructed images were analyzed for concave and convex sides of the spinal curve…

Robert M. Campbell, Jr. Award for Innovation in Early Onset Scoliosis

2020 Award Recipient - George Thompson, MD

Congratulations to Dr. George Thompson for receiving the inaugural Campbell Award at ICEOS 2020 ICEOS Virtual Meeting this November!

George H. Thompson is a graduate of University of Oklahoma Medical School and completed his residency at UCLA followed by a Pediatric Orthopaedic fellowship at the hospital for sick children. He has served at Orthopaedic Department, Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland since 1979. He became Professor and the Director of Pediatric Orthopaedics at Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital in 1993, a position he has held until his Retirement in 2020 becoming Professor Emeritus.

His contributions to Children's spine have been numerous. He was one of the founders of Growing Spine Study Group and Foundation and extremely active in clinical research. He regularly was engaged in teaching tutorials at POSNA and SRS. He is one of the editors of only textbook in growing spine, soon in its 3rd edition.  He has been recipient of many awards including SRS lifetime achievement award. As past president of Scoliosis Research Society and Pediatric Society of North America, he has been instrumental along with late Robert Campbell, in promoting research and education in the field of early onset scoliosis and continues to contribute , now as a Board member of the newly formed Pediatric Spine Study Group.

2019 Award Recipient - John Emans, MD

Congratulations to Dr. John Emans for receiving the inaugural Campbell Award at ICEOS 2019 this November!

Dr. Emans has made significant contributions to ICEOS and has reigned as a true thought-leader and innovator in the field.  He has had a strong impact on our community and his contributions to the field are of special importance.  His work on complex cases resulting in many modifications of VEPTR device and technique are worthy of recognition. As a sponsor Dr. Brian Snyder wrote in his support letter, "His pedagogical skills are evident in the generation of spine surgeons that he has trained and have become thought leaders in their own right. There is no one more deserving to be the inaugural recipient of the Campbell award to honor Bob's legacy.

Photo: Program Committee Chair John Smith, MD, Award Winner John Emans, MD, President and Founder Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD.

About the Award


Dr. Robert M. Campbell, Jr. was a renowned pediatric orthopedic surgeon, especially noted for his invention of the Vertical Expandable Prosthetic Titanium Rib (VEPTR). This award, established in his memory, honors Dr. Campbell and his many accomplishments in the early onset scoliosis field.

The Campbell Award is granted annually at the International Congress on Early Onset Scoliosis to a physician or scientist for outstanding contributions to the care of children with early onset scoliosis. Contributions may include innovative concepts, techniques, devices, or other major contributions which have significantly improved treatment outcomes for these children. While any physician or scientist is eligible to receive the Campbell Award, special consideration will be given to senior thought leaders.

At the ICEOS 10th Anniversary Gala in 2017, Dr. Campbell was awarded with the first Lifetime Achievement Award from the Growing Spine Foundation for his unwavering dedication to the care of children with spine and thoracic deformities. It is in his name that ICEOS continues to recognize those who have made a significant difference within the field of Early Onset Scoliosis throughout their careers.

Photos from top to bottom: Dr. Robert M. Campbell, Jr.; President and Founder Behrooz A. Akbarnia presenting GSF Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Campbell at the 10th Anniversary Gala in San Diego; Dr. Campbell receiving his award at the 10th Anniversary Gala.

Smith Family Lecture

First Annual Smith Family Lecture

Opening Ceremony - November 20, 2019

Several new traditions were added to ICEOS 2019 this year.  The first was an opening ceremony following the ICEOS pre-course.  This allowed us to thank and emphasize the importance of support from our Industry sponsors.

John and Melissa Smith have endowed a new annual lectureship to be given at the opening ceremony.  Many of our members have done incredible things outside of Orthopedics and Neurosurgery.  The only rule for this lectureship is that it can't be about medicine.

The 2019 Smith Family Lecture was given by Dr. Doug Brockmeyer.  The topic was "Climbing Mount Everest".  His fantastic talk and pictures were inspirational and enjoyed by all.